2023 World Emerging Security Forum

Speaker Information

Xue Lan

Dean of the Schwarzman College and Dean of Institute for AI International Governance of Tsinghua University

  • 2018 – Present : Professor and Dean of the Schwarzman College at Tsinghua University, China
  • 2000 – 2018 : Professor and Dean of the School of Public Policy and Management at Tsinghua University, China
  • 1996 – 2018 : Professor of the Institute for 21st Century Development at Tsinghua University, China

Dr. Xue Lan is Distinguished Professor of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences and the Dean of Schwarzman College at Tsinghua University. His teaching and research interests include STI policy, crisis management, and global governance. He has published extensively in these areas. At Tsinghua, Dr. Xue also serves as the Director of Institute for AI International Governance, Director of China Institute for S&T Policy, Co-Director of Institute for SDGs, and so on. From 2000-2018, he served as Associate Dean, Executive Associate Dean, and Dean of the School of Public Policy and Management at Tsinghua University.

He also serves as the Counsellor of the State Council, Co-Convener of the Discipline Evaluation Group Public Administration of the Academic Degrees Committee of the State Council, the Chair of the National Expert Committee on the Governance of Next Generation of AI, a member of the Standing Committee of Chinese Association of Science and Technology. He is also an adjunct professor at Carnegie Mellon University, a Non-Resident Senior Fellow of the Brookings Institution, a board member of the UN Sustainable Development Solution Network (SDSN), a member of the Committee of the Experts on Public Administration (CEPA) and the inaugural Internet Governance Forum (IGF) Leadership Panel. Dr. Xue is a recipient of Distinguished Young Scholar Award from National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC), Cheung Kong Chair Distinguished Professor of the Ministry of Education, the Fudan Distinguished Contribution Award for Management Science, the Distinguished Contribution Award from Chinese Association for Science of Science and S&T Policy, and the Second National Award for Excellence in Innovation.